Last updated: Aug 17 2026. Kraken launched Ink Points Season 1 on Kraken Pro on April 13, 2026, with point accrual retroactive to April 6. Levels and the leaderboard went live May 4, 2026. The INK token generation event is expected July to September 2026 per Ink Foundation guidance. Season 1 is not available in the UK.
Kraken Ink is the Layer 2 network Kraken launched on the OP Stack in December 2024, and Ink Points are the loyalty layer that sits on top of it. This article breaks down what Ink Points are, what Kraken has publicly disclosed about earn mechanics and levels, expected redemption mechanics, and how the program stacks up against Hyperliquid Points, Linea Voyage, zkSync, and EigenLayer.
What is Kraken Ink?
Ink is an Ethereum L2 built by Kraken on the OP Stack, part of the Optimism Superchain. Mainnet launched December 2024 with a focus on DeFi, low fees, and tight integration with the Kraken exchange (one-click deposit and withdrawal from a Kraken account directly to Ink).
The chain runs the standard OP Stack rollup architecture: transactions settle to Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, and bridging uses the canonical Optimism bridge plus partner routes. Kraken has positioned Ink as the home for "DeFi for everyone," with native DEXes, lending markets, and a perp venue.
How Ink Points Season 1 works
Per the official Kraken announcement, Season 1 runs on Kraken Pro and rewards eligible traders for activity across the platform. Kraken has disclosed the following mechanics:
Six levels. Kraken has confirmed a six-tier level structure. Early tiers focus on habit formation; higher tiers unlock leaderboard visibility. Exact point thresholds per level are not disclosed.
Weekly cadence. Points are calculated every Monday based on the previous week's activity. Weekly boosts apply to specific activity categories.
Leaderboard. Rankings are grouped by level bracket, not one global race.
API activity does not count. Only manual trading on Kraken Pro accrues points.
No cash value. Points themselves are not tokenized and carry no cash value. Kraken has stated redemption details are forthcoming.
Geo restrictions. Season 1 is not available in the UK.
Point values per action, multiplier magnitudes, and season length have not been publicly disclosed by Kraken.
How to earn Ink Points
Two earn surfaces exist in practice as of August 2026: the official Kraken Pro Season 1 program, and community-tracked onchain activity on Ink that observers expect to count toward the eventual airdrop. Only the first is officially confirmed by Kraken.
Trade on Kraken Pro
The primary confirmed earn surface. Kraken Pro trading activity generates weekly points based on volume and product mix, with weekly boosts on specific pairs or products. Exact point values per dollar traded are not disclosed. See Kraken's Season 1 announcement for the current in-scope activity list.
Onchain activity on Ink
Separately from Kraken Pro Season 1, activity on the Ink L2 itself has been widely cited by ecosystem observers as counting toward future airdrop eligibility. Community trackers point to bridging, swapping on Velodrome and SquidSwap, lending on Tydro, and NFT activity on Reservoir as tracked surfaces. These are not officially confirmed point-earning actions inside Season 1; Kraken has not published a formal onchain points portal at inkonchain.com. Treat community-cited point yields as indicative rather than official. For broader context on cross-chain transfers, see our overview of stablecoin bridging.
Expected airdrop and redemption value
Kraken has not disclosed a conversion ratio or dollar value per point. What follows is what the Ink Foundation and Kraken have publicly stated about the token, timing, and how to think about value.
Will Ink Points convert to an INK token?
The Ink Foundation has confirmed an incentives token and airdrop weighted toward real usage, early onchain activity, and Kraken Pro users. INK will have a fixed 1 billion total supply per Ink Foundation guidance. The exact points-to-token conversion ratio has not been announced.
When is the redemption event?
TGE is expected between July and September 2026 based on Ink Foundation communications as reported by CoinSwitch. Kraken itself has not committed to a public TGE date. As of August 17, 2026, no snapshot date has been announced.
What is one Ink Point worth?
Until conversion details are public, any specific dollar value is speculation. Points are a claim on a future allocation whose size, timing, and price are all unknown. Earn them as a side-effect of activity you would do anyway, not as the primary reason to deploy capital.
For a deeper look at how to think about points-based rewards generally, see our guide to evaluating airdrop campaigns.
How Ink Points compare to other programs
The points-program model has become standard across major L2s and onchain venues. Here is how Ink stacks up against the four most-cited comps in 2026:
Program | Earn method | Structure | Conversion status |
Kraken Ink Points | Kraken Pro trading (Season 1); onchain activity indicative | Six levels, weekly boosts, leaderboard by bracket | Pre-token. TGE expected Jul to Sep 2026 |
Hyperliquid Points | Trade perps and spot on Hyperliquid | Volume-based, no formal tiers | Converted to HYPE token in Nov 2024 airdrop |
Linea Voyage (LXP) | Bridge, swap, complete weekly tasks | Task-based XP, no multipliers | Pre-token. Distribution mechanics TBA |
zkSync | Onchain activity scored retroactively | No formal points UI | ZK token airdropped June 2024 |
EigenLayer | Restake ETH or LSTs | Time-weighted, restake amount | Converted to EIGEN token in 2024 |
Recent updates
Apr 6, 2026. Point accrual begins for eligible Kraken Pro users.
Apr 13, 2026. Kraken formally announces Ink Points Season 1 and issues first weekly distribution.
May 4, 2026. Levels and leaderboard become visible on Kraken Pro.
Jul to Sep 2026. Expected INK TGE window per Ink Foundation guidance.
Is farming Ink Points worth it in 2026?
For users who already trade on Kraken Pro, the marginal cost of continuing to trade is unchanged, and points accrue as a side benefit. The downside risk is trading fees you would have paid anyway.
For users who would otherwise not trade on Kraken Pro, the answer is more nuanced. The expected value of any given point is unknown, and historical airdrops have ranged from "life-changing" (Hyperliquid, Jito) to "barely covered gas" (some retroactive distributions). Treat Ink Points as a lottery ticket attached to activity that already makes sense.
How do I check my Ink Points balance?
Log in to Kraken Pro and look for the Ink Points dashboard in the rewards section. Points refresh weekly on Mondays based on the prior week's activity.
Can I transfer or sell Ink Points?
No. Points are non-transferable and tied to the Kraken Pro account that earned them. Secondary markets for points (OTC desks, points-trading platforms) have emerged for some programs but Kraken has not endorsed any such venue for Ink Points.
What happens if I stop trading on Kraken Pro?
Previously-earned points remain in your account. Weekly accrual pauses until you resume eligible activity. Season boundaries and any point expiry rules have not been publicly disclosed.
Related reading
If you are farming Ink Points as part of a broader airdrop strategy, these guides cover the adjacent decisions on bridging assets, evaluating campaigns, and comparing Layer 2 ecosystems.
Methodology and sources
This article draws on the official Kraken Ink Points Season 1 announcement (April 13, 2026), Ink Foundation communications as reported by CoinSwitch, and public statements from Kraken about TGE timing. Comparison data for Hyperliquid, Linea, zkSync, and EigenLayer comes from each project's official points portals and airdrop announcements. Program mechanics reflect what Kraken has publicly disclosed as of August 17, 2026 and are subject to change.

